Algeria Overview

5 (100%) 1 vote

Algeria is one of the Maghreb states and is the largest state in terms of area on the African continent and the tenth largest in the world. Most of the population lives in the northern part of Algeria. The much larger southern part is dominated by the desert regions of the Sahara. After years of concentrating on the oil and gas industry, Algeria is pursuing ambitious goals to expand renewable energies.

Population / geography

algeria population - fertility rate

Country name El-djumhuriya el-djazairiya ed dimukratiya esch-schaâbiyaPeople’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
Land area 2.38 million km²(7 times the size of Germany)
Population 40,969,443(Estimate July 2017)
Life expectancy Men: 75.6 yearsWomen: 78.4 years

(2017 estimate)

Age structure 0-14 years: 29.31%15-64 years: 65.04%

65 years and older: 5.65%

(2017 estimate)

Growth of population 1.7%(2017 estimate)
Population groups 99% Arab / Berber<1% Europeans

(As of 2017)

Languages Arabic and Tamazight (official languages), French (lingua franca), Berber dialects (as of 2017)
Religions 99% Muslims (mostly Sunnis),<1% Christians and Jews

(2012 estimate)

National day November 1st (beginning of the independence struggle in 1954)
Independence day July 5, 1962 (declaration of independence from France)
Time zone CET (UTC + 1)No summer and winter time changeover. The difference to Central Europe is 0 hours in winter and -1 hour in summer.
Currency 1 Algerian dinar DZD / 100 centimes1 euro = 136.37 Algerian dinars (DZD) (as of December 2017)
Prefix +213



Politics / Administration

Country name El-djumhuriya el-djazairiya ed dimukratiya esch-schaâbiya People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
Capital Algiers
Form of government Republic / semi-presidential system
Head of state Abd al-Azis Bouteflikare-elected since 1999, 2009 and 2014
Head of government Ahmed OuyahiaPrime Minister

since August 15, 2017

Foreign Minister Abdelkader Messahelsince May 25, 2017
Minister of Education Nouria Benghabritsince May 5, 2014
Science Minister Tahar HadjarMinister for Higher Education and Scientific Research

since May 14, 2015

Houses of Parliament Two-chamber parliament consisting of:

  • al-Majlis al-Sha’abi al-Watani / National People’s Assembly / House of Commons (462 members, directly elected by the people, last election on May 4, 2017)
  • al-Majlis al-‘Umma / National Council / House of Lords (144 members, 96 members are half-elected every three years and fully elected every six years by the local councils, the remaining 48 members of the council are appointed directly by the president.
Ruling parties
  • FLN / Front de Liberation Nationale / National Liberation Front (164 seats)
  • RND / Rassemblement National Démocratique / National Democratic Assembly (97 seats)
  • MPA / Mouvement Populaire Algérien / Algerian People’s Movement (13 seats)
  • TAJ / Rassemblement de l’Espoir de l’Algérie / Association for Algeria’s Hope (19 seats)
Opposition parties
  • Islamist alliance of the parties MSP / Mouvemement de la société pour la paix / Movement of the Society for Peace and FC / Front du changement / Front for change (together 33 seats)
  • FFS / Front des Forces Socialistes / Front Socialist Forces (14 seats)
  • PT / Parti des Travailleurs / Workers’ Party with (11 seats)
Administrative structure 48 administrative districts (Wilayas), divided into 1,541 parishes (Baladiyahs)

You may also like...