Madagascar World Heritages

Rate this post

Madagascar, officially Malagasy Repoblikan ‘i Madagasikara, French République de Madagascar [repy Republic də -], German Republic of Madagascar, island nation in the Indian Ocean, separated from the east coast of Africa by the 400-km wide Mozambique Channel; with (2019) 27 million residents; The capital is Antananarivo.

Madagascar includes the island of Madagascar (fourth largest island in the world) and some minor islands ( Nosy Be, Nosy Boraha ).

On May 26, 2015, 121 of the 125 MPs present in parliament voted, inter alia. for disregarding his duties as head of state for the removal of President Rajaonarimampianina. In mid-June 2015, the Constitutional Court rejected the president’s removal from office as legally unfounded. For the first time since 2009, a Senate legitimized by elections (in December 2013) met on February 9, 2016. After ongoing disputes between Prime Minister Jean Ravelonarivo (* 1959), who has been in office since January 2015, and President Rajaonarimampianina, the Prime Minister and his entire cabinet resigned on April 8, 2016. The previous Minister of the Interior Olivier Solonandrasana Mahafaly (* 1964) was appointed the new prime minister.

World Heritage Sites (K) and World Natural Heritage (N)

  • Tsingy de Bemaraha Nature Reserve (N; 1990)
  • King’s Hill of Ambohimanga (»Blue Hill«) (K; 2001)
  • Atsinanana rainforests (N; 2007)

King’s Hill of Ambohimanga (World Heritage)

The royal hill Ambohimanga is considered the birthplace of the state of Madagascar and the center of the Merina dynasty. It was the seat of the Merina kings until 1794, when King Andrianampoinimerina moved his seat of government to Antananarivo. The world heritage site is a symbol of the cultural identity of the Malagasy people and is still visited by pilgrims to this day. Visit for Madagascar kingdom of the lemurs.

Ambohimanga Royal Mounds: Facts

Official title: King’s Hill of Ambohimanga (“Blue Hill”)
Cultural monument: Residence and holy city of the Merina kings founded at the beginning of the 18th century; Burial place and ensemble of holy places; ideal place of birth of the state of Madagascar; including last wooden gabled houses in Madagascar and palace made of rosewood; Place of worship and pilgrimage; The palace’s citadel is still used today for ritual ancestor worship
Continent: Africa
Country: Madagascar
Location: Ambohimanga, near the capital Antanarivo
Appointment: 2001
Meaning: Most important symbol of the cultural identity of the Madagascans

Atsinanana Rainforests (World Heritage)

The world heritage, which has been on the Red List since 2010, includes the rainforests of Atsinanana, which extend over six national parks in the east of the island. They have a unique biological diversity, including over 70 endangered species.

Atsinanana Rainforests: Facts

Official title: Atsinanana rainforests
Natural monument: Rainforest area on the east coast of Madagascar running from north to south with the national parks Marojejy, Masoala, Zahamena, Ranomafana, Andringitra and Andohahela; Unique plant and animal diversity due to the geographical isolation caused by the separation of the island from the southern continent 60 to 80 million years ago; Home to 12,000 endemic plant species and a large number of threatened animal species that only occur there (e.g. primates, 25 species of lemurs); Classified as endangered in 2010 due to illegal logging and hunting of the critically endangered lemurs
Continent: Africa
Country: Madagascar
Location: Eastern Madagascar
Appointment: 2007
Meaning: Unique fauna and flora with an exceptional number of endemic plant and animal species; of paramount importance for the ecological and biological diversity of the island as well as for the maintenance of its ecological processes; Protection for a large number of threatened animal species and against further destruction of the rainforest (currently reduced to 8.5% of the original extent)
Flora and fauna: Wildlife (Madagascar): 100 species of mammals, endemic such as Tanreks with 24 species, crawling cats with 9 species (including the fossa), various bats (e.g. flying foxes), semi-monkeys with more than 30 species (e.g. lemurs, tarsier, Indris, siffkas, ring-tailed lemurs, finger animals), 250 species of birds (125 of which are endemic), including stilt claws, lobed pittas and vanga stranglers; 350 reptiles (90% of which are endemic), e.g. leaf-tailed geckos, day geckos, 50 types of chameleons (e.g. dwarf chameleon with 34 mm; giant chameleon with 70 cm), Madagascar iguanas, Madagascar boas, 200 types of frogs (e. Tomato frog, golden frog); Flora (Madagascar): Baobabs, over 1000 species of orchids and aquatic plants, numerous palm and tree plants; Karst vegetation such as Diespyros perrieri and the wild banana species Musa perrieri and Baobab; 4,220 tree,

Atsinanana Rainforests (World Heritage)

You may also like...