Tagged: Arkansas

According to ejiaxing, Craighead County is located in northeastern Arkansas and is one of the 75 counties that make up The Natural State. It was created in 1859 from parts of Greene and Mississippi Counties, and the county seat is Jonesboro. Craighead County has a population of about 100,000, and it has always been a rural area with an agricultural focus. Prior to European settlement, the area was home to Native Americans who lived in villages along the St. Francis River. By the early 1800s, settlers had begun to move into the area, primarily from Tennessee and Kentucky. The county was named after Thomas Craighead, a Revolutionary War veteran who served as a state senator for many years before his death in 1837. The first industry to be established in Craighead County was lumbering; by 1868 there were three sawmills operating in the county. Cotton farming quickly became the main economic activity in Craighead County as more settlers arrived with their families during this period of time. During the late 1800s and early 1900s, railroads were built throughout Craighead County connecting Jonesboro with nearby towns such as Monette and Bono; these railroads allowed goods to be transported more easily from one place to another which further stimulated economic growth in the region. In addition to agriculture and timber production, other industries such as food processing plants began to open up during this time period as well. By World War II, several factories had been established in Jonesboro including an aircraft plant that produced parts for military aircrafts during the war effort. Since then, Craighead County has continued to grow economically while still maintaining its small-town charm with its rural agricultural roots intact; today it is home to several universities including Arkansas State University which is located right here in Jonesboro making it a popular destination for young people looking for higher education opportunities or just wanting to experience living somewhere new with plenty of entertainment options available all year round. Craighead County is served by the Craighead County School District. This school district covers over 600 square miles and serves more than 11,500 students in grades pre-K through 12. The district operates twenty-eight schools – twenty elementary schools, five middle schools, four high schools, and an alternative school – throughout the county. The district offers a wide variety of educational opportunities for its students. It provides rigorous academic programs that are designed to help students reach their highest potential and prepare them for college and career readiness. It also provides a variety of extracurricular activities such as sports teams, clubs, and after-school programs to ensure that all students have the opportunity to explore their interests outside of the classroom. In terms of student achievement, Craighead County School District has seen some positive results in recent years. The district has consistently scored higher than the state average on standardized tests such as the ACT and Arkansas Benchmark Exam. In addition, graduation rates have been steadily increasing over the past few years with more than 90% of seniors graduating on time in 2018-2019 school year. The district also boasts numerous awards and recognitions including being named an AdvancED District Accredited School System in 2016-2017; this accreditation signifies that Craighead County Schools are meeting or exceeding quality standards set forth by AdvancED which is recognized globally as an organization dedicated to improving student performance through quality assurance initiatives. Overall, Craighead County School District strives to ensure that all students receive a quality education that will prepare them for success in college or career pursuits after graduation. Through rigorous academic curriculums, a wide selection of extracurricular activities and award-winning programs such as its AdvancED accreditation program, Craighead County Schools is committed to providing its students with an environment where they can learn and grow both academically and socially. Check ACT-TEST-CENTERS.COM to learn more about Arkansas four years colleges.

University of Arkansas Community College- Batesville

Arkansas Community Colleges

Community colleges, formerly known as junior colleges, are 2-year higher education institutions that provide postsecondary courses leading to certificate and associate degree as a pathway to a four-year degree. Below is a list of...