Tagged: Delaware

According to ejiaxing, Kent County, Delaware is located in the central part of the state and is one of the three counties that make up Delaware. The county was named after Kent County, England and was founded in 1683. It was initially part of St. Jones County which also included what is now New Castle County. In 1682, William Penn split St. Jones County into two parts, naming each after a county in England. The first settlers of Kent County were mostly farmers who planted tobacco and other crops for export to Philadelphia and other markets. Many of these early settlers were Quakers who moved from Pennsylvania to escape religious persecution. Over time, the area developed into a thriving agricultural center with many small towns popping up throughout the county such as Dover which became the county seat in 1717. During the American Revolution, Kent County was an important strategic location for both sides of the conflict. The British army used it as a staging ground for their invasion of Philadelphia while local militia forces defended Dover from attack by sea and land. After independence was declared, many prominent figures from Kent County signed the Constitution including Caesar Rodney and George Read who both served as delegates to the Continental Congress from 1777-1790. Today, Kent County remains an important agricultural center with many large farms located throughout its borders producing poultry, dairy products, grains, fruits and vegetables among other things. It is also home to several large industries including manufacturing plants for DuPont Chemicals and Dover Air Force Base which serves as one of Delaware’s major employers and economic drivers. Despite its rural character, Kent County has seen some growth in recent years with new housing developments popping up around Dover as well as some smaller cities like Camden becoming popular destinations for commuters to Wilmington or Philadelphia due to their proximity to major highways like I-95 or US Rt 13 respectively. The school district of Kent County, Delaware is made up of 17 public schools, four technical schools and two alternative education centers. It serves a diverse population of over 22,000 students in grades K-12. The district is comprised of three main areas, Dover, Smyrna and Milford. Each area has its own unique characteristics that make it an ideal place for students to learn and grow. In Dover, the Capital School District provides quality education to students from pre-kindergarten through 12th grade. The district operates seven elementary schools, two middle schools and two high schools. It also offers a variety of specialized programs such as the International Baccalaureate Program at Dover High School and the International Studies Program at William Henry Middle School. The Smyrna School District serves students from pre-kindergarten through 12th grade. This district consists of five elementary schools, one middle school and one high school which offers a variety of specialized programs including the Advanced Placement Program at Smyrna High School and the Visual & Performing Arts Academy at Sunnyside Elementary School. Finally, the Milford School District serves students from pre-kindergarten through 12th grade with six elementary schools, one middle school and one high school which offers a variety of specialized programs such as the Science & Technology Academy at Milford High School and the Middle States Accreditation Program at Lulu Ross Elementary School. Overall, Kent County provides a quality education for its students with an emphasis on individual growth and development within each unique area served by its districts. The district also provides support services such as counseling and special education services for those who need additional assistance in their learning environment as well as advanced placement courses for those who wish to challenge themselves academically or pursue college credit while they are still in high school. Check ACT-TEST-CENTERS.COM to learn more about Delaware four years colleges.

Delaware Technical and Community College

Delaware Community Colleges

Community colleges, formerly known as junior colleges, are 2-year higher education institutions that provide postsecondary courses leading to certificate and associate degree as a pathway to a four-year degree. Below is a list of...