Tagged: Hawaii

According to ejiaxing, Hawaii County, Hawaii is the largest and most populous county in the state of Hawaii. It is located on the island of Hawaii, also known as the “Big Island”, and encompasses all of its land area. The county encompasses a total area of 4,028 square miles, making it larger than all of the other Hawaiian islands combined. Hawaii County has a long and rich history that dates back to ancient times. Before European contact, the islands were home to many native Polynesian people who lived in small villages throughout the region. In 1778, British explorer James Cook arrived on the islands and named them the “Sandwich Islands” after his sponsor John Montagu, 4th Earl of Sandwich. In 1819, King Kamehameha I unified all of the Hawaiian Islands under one kingdom and established Honolulu as its capital. During this period, many immigrants from Europe and Asia began to arrive in Hawaii County to work in sugar plantations or as laborers in business ventures such as whaling or fishing. Throughout this period, many Hawaiians were forced into labor due to economic conditions or foreign interventions. In 1893, a group of American businessmen overthrew Queen Liliuokalani and established a provisional government which lasted until 1898 when Hawaii became an official United States territory. Following World War II and during statehood in 1959, Hawaii saw increased economic development due to military bases being built throughout the county including Hilo International Airport which opened up new opportunities for tourism within Hawaii County as well as other industries such as agriculture and fishing. Today, Hawaii County is home to over 200 thousand people with Hilo serving as its largest city and county seat. The entire county is considered part of Hawaiian culture with many locals still speaking Hawaiian language while also embracing modern life through tourism activities such as snorkeling or whale watching off its coastline. Additionally, much of its land remains untouched making it an ideal spot for eco-tourism activities such as hiking or exploring volcanoes like Kilauea which are located within its boundaries. Hawaii County is home to a variety of school districts, each offering unique educational opportunities for students in the area. The Hawaii Department of Education oversees the public school system, which includes six main districts: Hilo-Waiakea Complex, Honokaa-Kealakehe-Kohala-Konawaena Complex, Keaau-Pahoa Complex, Ka’u-Kehena Complex, Puna Complex and Kau High & Pahala Elementary. Each district offers a variety of K-12 educational opportunities for students in the area. The Hilo-Waiakea Complex consists of seven elementary schools, three middle schools and two high schools. This district serves over 10 thousand students and offers an array of courses from traditional core subjects to more specialized classes such as music or art. The Honokaa-Kealakehe-Kohala-Konawaena Complex serves over 4 thousand students with four elementary schools and two high schools. This district offers a range of classes including Hawaiian language instruction as well as advanced placement (AP) classes for those seeking college credit while in high school. The Keaau–Pahoa Complex has five public elementary schools and one public middle school serving over 5 thousand students in the area. This district also has numerous special education programs that cater to children with special needs or disabilities as well as various afterschool activities such as sports or clubs. The Ka’u–Kehena complex is home to one elementary school and one high school serving over 2 thousand students in the area with a range of courses from traditional core subjects to music or art classes. The Puna complex has six public elementary schools and one public middle school serving nearly 6 thousand students in this district which also offers various special education programs for those with learning disabilities or other needs. Lastly, Kau High & Pahala Elementary serves about 1 thousand students with two elementary schools and one high school offering traditional core subjects along with Hawaiian language instruction and other specialized courses such as robotics or drama club activities. In addition to these six main districts, several charter schools are located throughout Hawaii County offering alternative educational options for families who may not have access to traditional schooling options within their local communities. These charter schools focus on providing innovative learning experiences that are tailored to meet individual student needs while encouraging academic excellence through hands on learning opportunities outside of the classroom setting.Check ACT-TEST-CENTERS.COM to learn more about Hawaii four years colleges.

Pearl City, Hawaii

Pearl City, Hawaii

According to bridgat, Pearl City is a city located in the central part of the island of Oahu in Hawaii. It is situated between the cities of Aiea and Waipahu, and is just west...

TransPacific Hawaii College

Hawaii Community Colleges

Community colleges, formerly known as junior colleges, are 2-year higher education institutions that provide postsecondary courses leading to certificate and associate degree as a pathway to a four-year degree. Below is a list of...