Tagged: Nebraska

According to ejiaxing, Cherry County is located in the Nebraska Panhandle, in the northwestern region of the state. It was named for Lieutenant Samuel A. Cherry of the United States Army, who died during a skirmish with Native Americans in 1864. The county was established in 1883 and covers an area of 2,818 square miles. The early history of Cherry County is closely intertwined with the Native American tribes that inhabited the area. Tribes such as the Sioux, Pawnee, Arapaho, and Cheyenne all had a presence in Cherry County at one time or another. In 1876, these tribes were forced to relocate to reservations by the federal government’s Indian Removal Act. The first non-Native American settlers arrived in Cherry County around 1880 and began homesteading on open land. By 1900 over 800 people had settled there and established small towns like Valentine, Kilgore, Cody and Merriman. Farming quickly became an important part of life for many families as they worked to make a living off their land. Crops such as wheat and corn were grown while cattle were raised for both food and sale. In addition to farming and ranching, several other industries developed during this period including lumber mills, brickyards and coal mines which provided employment opportunities for many residents throughout the county’s history. Today, Cherry County remains largely rural with much of its population living on farms or ranches engaged in agricultural activities such as raising livestock or growing crops like wheat or corn for sale or consumption by local residents. The county is also home to Fort Robinson State Park which offers visitors opportunities to explore historic sites from its past as well as enjoy outdoor activities such as camping and hiking trails throughout its vast landscape. Cherry County, Nebraska is served by two public school districts: Valentine Community Schools and Cody-Kilgore Public Schools. The Valentine Community Schools district consists of seven schools, including an elementary school, a middle school and a high school. The district serves students from prekindergarten through twelfth grade and offers an array of programs to meet the needs of its diverse student population. Programs include advanced placement courses for high schoolers, career and technical education classes for those interested in pursuing a career in a specific field, and special education services for students with disabilities. The Cody-Kilgore Public Schools district is comprised of five schools including an elementary school, a middle school, and two high schools. This district also offers advanced placement courses as well as career and technical education classes for students who are interested in pursuing certain careers after graduation. Additionally, the district provides special education services to ensure that all students have access to the resources they need to succeed academically. Both districts strive to provide quality educational experiences that inspire their students to reach their full potential while preparing them for college or the workforce after graduation. Through strong partnerships with local businesses and organizations, both districts are able to offer internship opportunities for those looking to gain job experience while still in high school. Additionally, both districts offer extracurricular activities such as athletics, music programs, theater productions and clubs which allow students to explore their interests outside of the classroom. Check ACT-TEST-CENTERS.COM to learn more about Nebraska four years colleges.

Western Nebraska Community College Area

Nebraska Community Colleges

Community colleges, formerly known as junior colleges, are 2-year higher education institutions that provide postsecondary courses leading to certificate and associate degree as a pathway to a four-year degree. Below is a list of...