Tagged: North Dakota

According to ejiaxing, Foster County, North Dakota is located in the south-central region of the state, and is bordered by Stutsman County to the north, Barnes County to the east, LaMoure County to the south, and Griggs County to the west. The county was established in 1873 and named for John D. Foster, a prominent politician from Jamestown at the time. At its earliest stages of settlement in the 1880s, Foster County was largely populated by European settlers who came to farm and homestead on open prairie land. The population continued to grow in subsequent decades as more immigrants arrived from Europe and Canada seeking a better life in America. By 1900, Foster County had grown to a population of nearly 8500 people with many small towns scattered throughout its expansive landscape. Farming has been an integral part of Foster County’s history since its inception and continues to be an important industry today. In addition to farming, businesses such as lumbering and coal mining developed throughout the county during its early years. As time went on, new industries emerged including oil drilling, manufacturing plants and transportation companies which provided jobs for many county residents throughout much of the 20th century. Today, Foster County has a population of around 4200 people spread across its rural landscape. Agriculture remains a major source of income for many residents while other industries such as oil drilling have also become important contributors to the local economy. Despite being one of North Dakota’s smallest counties by population size – Foster County continues to provide economic opportunities for those who call it home. Foster County, North Dakota is served by two different school districts: the Carrington Public School District and the South Prairie School District. Both school districts serve a total of about 1,100 students in grades kindergarten through 12th grade. The Carrington Public School District was established in 1877 and currently serves approximately 600 students from the towns of Carrington, Litchville, and Sykeston. The district includes three elementary schools (K-4), one middle school (5-8), and one high school (9-12). The schools offer a variety of programs such as music, art, physical education, vocational education, special education services, Gifted and Talented Education (GATE) programs, Advanced Placement courses, and more. The South Prairie School District was established in 1909 and currently serves approximately 500 students from the towns of New Rockford and Sheyenne. The district includes one elementary school (K-6), one middle school (7-8), and one high school (9-12). Like the Carrington Public School District, South Prairie also offers a variety of programs including music instruction, art classes, physical education classes, vocational training courses, special education services for students with disabilities or who require extra support to succeed academically. Overall, both districts strive to provide quality educational experiences to their students so they can reach their highest potential in academics as well as extracurricular activities. Foster County has a long history of providing an outstanding educational experience for all who attend its public schools. Check ACT-TEST-CENTERS.COM to learn more about North Dakota four years colleges.

United Tribes Technical College

North Dakota Community Colleges

Community colleges, formerly known as junior colleges, are 2-year higher education institutions that provide postsecondary courses leading to certificate and associate degree as a pathway to a four-year degree. Below is a list of...