Tagged: South Dakota

According to ejiaxing, Custer County, South Dakota is located in the Black Hills region of the state. It was established in 1875 and is named after General George Armstrong Custer, a Union Army officer who died at the Battle of Little Bighorn. The county has a population of about 8,500 people and covers an area of 1,852 square miles. The first settlers to arrive in Custer County were miners who came to search for gold and other precious metals in the Black Hills. As word spread about their discoveries, more people flocked to the area. The town of Custer was established in 1877 and quickly became an important hub for commerce and transportation as it was located along several major routes including the Black Hills stagecoach road and the Chicago & Northwestern Railway line. In addition to mining, ranching also became an important industry in Custer County as ranchers began raising cattle for beef production. This led to several small towns being established such as Hermosa, Hill City, Pringle, Keystone, Nemo and Ardmore. Each town had its own unique character that attracted visitors from all over the country who were looking for a place to experience true western hospitality. Today, Custer County remains a popular tourist destination due to its many attractions such as Mount Rushmore National Memorial which is located just outside of Keystone; Crazy Horse Memorial which is located nearby; numerous outdoor recreation opportunities such as camping, fishing, hiking and horseback riding; historic sites like Fort Hays Old West Town & Dinner Show; museums like the Adams Museum & House; plus much more. With its breathtaking scenery and abundance of activities it’s no wonder why so many people choose to visit this picturesque county each year. Custer County, South Dakota is home to four school districts that serve the educational needs of the county‚Äôs 8,500 residents. The Custer School District serves the town of Custer and its surrounding areas and consists of two elementary schools, one middle school, and a high school. The Edgemont School District serves Edgemont and its surrounding areas and consists of one elementary school, one middle school, and a high school. The Hermosa School District serves Hermosa and its surrounding areas and consists of one elementary school, one middle school, and a high school. Lastly, the Hill City School District serves Hill City and its surrounding areas and consists of two elementary schools, one middle school, and a high school. All four districts provide quality education to their students with a curriculum that meets or exceeds state standards. In addition to core academic subjects such as English Language Arts (ELA), mathematics, science, social studies (history & geography), health & physical education (PE), each district also offers elective classes like art & music as well as career-oriented courses such as business & finance. Each district is committed to ensuring that every student has what they need in order succeed both inside and outside of the classroom. This includes providing access to technology such as computers in the classroom; partnering with local organizations to create internship opportunities for students; offering extracurricular activities like athletics (football & basketball) clubs; providing resources such as tutoring for those who need extra help; plus much more. The four districts work together to ensure that all students have an opportunity for success after graduation whether it be through college/university or technical training programs/career pathways. With top-notch educators in all four districts Custer County is setting its students up for success no matter what their future holds. Check ACT-TEST-CENTERS.COM to learn more about South Dakota four years colleges.

Blunt, South Dakota

Blunt, South Dakota

According to allcountrylist, Blunt, South Dakota is a small town located in the southeastern corner of the state. It is situated in the Missouri River Valley, at the intersection of Highway 212 and Highway...

Western Dakota Technical Institute

South Dakota Community Colleges

Community colleges, formerly known as junior colleges, are 2-year higher education institutions that provide postsecondary courses leading to certificate and associate degree as a pathway to a four-year degree. Below is a list of...